C1 Call for Papers

Call for Papers

Sub-Conference on Artificial Intelligence in Education/Intelligent Tutoring Systems (AIED/ITS)

Christchurch, New Zealand

December 4-8 (Mon-Fri), 2017

Organized by the Asia-Pacific Society for Computers in Education


In response to emerging research diversity, ICCE2017 will be a meta-conference, comprising of seven co-located theme-based conferences. This is the Call for Papers for the theme-based conference, C1: Artificial Intelligence in Education/Intelligent Tutoring Systems & Adaptive Learning (AIED/ITS).

All accepted papers will be published in proceedings which will be indexed by Elsevier Bibliographic Databases (e.g., Scopus, Engineering Village and others). Authors of accepted distinguished full papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers for consideration of publication in Research and Practice in Technology Enhanced Learning (RPTEL), the official academic journal of the Asia Pacific Society for Computers in Education.

The C1 ICCE Conference on AIED/ITS & Adaptive Learning focuses on research and development of interactive and adaptive learning environments for learners of all ages, across all domains. The conference provides opportunities for the cross-fertilization of knowledge and ideas from researchers in many fields that make up this interdisciplinary research area, including artificial intelligence, computer science, cognitive science, education, learning sciences, educational technology, psychology, philosophy, sociology, anthropology and linguistics. It also includes many domain-specific areas for which AIED/ITS systems have been designed and built, including ITS for ill-defined domains.

Possible topics in the context of AIED/ITS systems that papers may address include (but are not limited to):

  • Affective Modeling
  •  System Architectures (distributed, agent-based, web-based)
  • Assessments
  • Authoring Systems
  • Cognitive Engineering
  • Educational Data Mining and Learning Analytics
  • Instructional Planning and Strategies
  • Intelligent Systems architectures and Ontology-aware systems
  • Interaction Design and novel interfaces
  • Intelligent Pedagogical Agents and Learning Companions
  • Knowledge Modelling and Representation
  • Learner and Student Modeling
  • Ontology, Metadata and Linked open data
  • Natural Language and Dialogue
  • Semantic Web technologies, Service-oriented architectures   
  • Supporting Self-regulation and Metacognition
  • Tutoring strategies
  • Web intelligence
  • Virtual and Augmented Reality

We welcome contributions that report accomplished research as well as work in progress. Papers that describe innovative architectures, discuss results from AIED systems in use, and present evaluations of AIED/ITS systems are strongly encouraged. The conference also welcomes innovative ideas and future developments, therefore, papers of a conceptual nature are also encouraged.

Paper categories (Note the revised page limits)

  • Full paper (8-10 pages)
  • Short paper (5-6 pages)
  • Poster paper (2-3 pages)

The paper template is available here. For past authors of ICCE, please note that the template has been substantially revised. Do download the latest version of the template when preparing your manuscript.

All the accepted full papers are eligible for the following competitions:

  • Best Overall Paper Award
  • Best Student Paper Award (restricted to papers whose first authors are graduate or undergraduate students)
  • Best Technical Design Paper Award

In addition, all the accepted poster papers are eligible for the competition of Best Poster Design Award(s). Please visit this URL for the award rules and criteria.


Important Dates
Paper Submission Due: May 8, 2017
Notification of Acceptance: July 31, 2017
Camera-ready paper due: August 14, 2017


Program Co-chairs
Gautam Biswas, Vanderbilt University, USA (executive Program Chair)
Tsukasa Hirashima,  Hiroshima University, Japan
Amali Weerasinghe, University of Adelaide, Australia
Sergey Sosnovsky, DKFI, Germany


Program Committee
Ryan Baker, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Ben Daniel, University of Otago, New Zealand
Agneta Gulz, Linkoping and Lund Universities, Sweden
Tomoko Kojiri, Kansai University
Nguyen-Thinh Le, Humboldt-Universität Berlin, Germany
Elvira Popescu, University of Craiova, Romania

Olga Santos, UNED, Spain
Merlin Suarez, De La Salle University, Philippines
Carsten Ullrich, DKFI, Germany
Michelle P. Banawan, Ateneo de Davao University, Philippines

Krittaya Bunchongchit, Mahidol University, Bangkok, Thailand
Mario Chacon, Tecnológico de Costa Rica

Jose Luis Perez De La Cruz, Universidad de Malaga, Spain
Ben Du Boulay, Informatics Department, University of Sussex, UK
Claude Frasson, University of Montreal, Canada

Shinobu Hasegawa, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Yusuke Hayashi, Hiroshima University, Japan
Bastiaan Heeren, Open University of the Netherlands

Sharon Hsiao, Arizona State University, USA
Tomoya Horiguchi, Kobe University, Japan
Sridhar Iyer, Indian Institute of Technology Mumbai

Akihiro Kashihara, Univ. of Electro-Communications, Japan
Chad Lane, University of Illinois, USA
Lydia Lau, University of Leeds, UK

Chi-Jen Lin, Fo Guang University, Taiwan
Noboru Matsuda, Texas A&M University, USA
Tatsunori Matsui, Waseda University

Moffat Matthews, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand
Tanja Mitrovic, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand
Kazuhisa Miwa, Nagoya University, Japan
Riichiro Mizoguchi, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Jaclyn Ocumpaugh, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Helen Pain, University of Edinburgh, UK
Ma. Mercedes T. Rodrigo, Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
Sagaya Sabestinal, UNITAR International University, Malaysia
M. Sasikumar, CDAC, IndiaNatalia Stash, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Kazuhisa Seta, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan

Thepchai Supnithi, National Electronics and Computer Technology Center, Thailand